#### **CITY OF WESTMINSTER**

### MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

At the Meeting of the Council of the City of Westminster held at 7.00 pm on Wednesday 17th May, 2017 at Porchester Hall, Porchester Road, Bayswater, London, W2 5DU.

# **PRESENT**

The Lord Mayor, Councillor Steve Summers and upon election, Councillor Ian Adams

## **COUNCILLORS**

Jonathan Glanz Heather Acton Nickie Aiken Barbara Grahame Lindsey Hall Julia Alexander Angela Harvey Barbara Arzymanow David Harvey **Daniel Astaire** Richard Holloway Richard Beddoe Adam Hug Rita Begum David Boothroyd Louise Hyams

David Boothroyd Louise Hya Iain Bott Aicha Less

Susie Burbridge
Ruth Bush
Guthrie McKie
Melvyn Caplan
Tim Mitchell
Danny Chalkley
Gotz Mohindra
Paul Church
Prapya Qureshi
Brian Connell
Suhail Rahuja

Baroness Philippa Couttie Robert Rigby
Antonia Cox Rachael Robathan

Thomas Crockett Tim Roca Robert Davis, MBE, DL Ian Rowley

Tony Devenish Karen Scarborough
Paul Dimoldenberg Andrew Smith
Nick Evans Shamim Talukder

Christabel Flight Barrie Taylor
Jean Paul Floru Aziz Toki

Peter Freeman Jacqui Wilkinson
Murad Gassanly Jason Williams

### 1 ELECTION OF LORD MAYOR

Proposed by Councillor Melvyn Caplan and seconded by Councillor Angela Harvey that Councillor Ian Adams be elected Lord Mayor of Westminster for the ensuing year.

Proposed by Councillor Barrie Taylor and seconded by Councillor Guthrie McKie that Councillor Paul Dimoldenberg be elected Lord Mayor of Westminster for the ensuing year.

Upon a show of hands, the Lord Mayor declared that Councillor Ian Adams had been elected Lord Mayor.

**RESOLVED:** That Councillor Ian Adams be elected Lord Mayor of Westminster for the ensuing year.

Councillor Ian Adams thereupon made subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Lord Mayor and of the Office of Deputy High Steward of Westminster. Having done so she took the Chair and thanked the Council for his election and reported that Mr Christopher Colosimo would be his Consort.

### 2 MINUTES

The minutes of the Council meeting held on 3 May 2017 were, with the assent of the Members present, signed by the Lord Mayor as a true record.

### 3 APPOINTMENT OF LORD MAYOR'S CHAPLAIN

The Lord Mayor announced that he had appointed the Reverend Stephen Mason as his Chaplain.

# 4 PRESENTATION OF PAST LORD MAYOR'S BADGE AND OTHER INSIGNIA

The Lord Mayor, on behalf of the Council, presented Councillor Steve Summers with a past Lord Mayor's badge and the Vote of Thanks on Vellum as agreed by the Council at its previous meeting and also presented a past Lady Mayoress's badge to Mrs Kate McCarthy. Councillor Summers thanked the Council on behalf of his Lady Mayoress and himself.

#### 5 LORD MAYOR'S COMMUNICATIONS

The Lord Mayor informed the Council that the Annual Civic Service would be held at Westminster Abbey at 11.00am on Sunday 2 July 2017 and all present were welcome to attend.

#### 6 CONSTITUTIONAL MATTERS

The report of the Chief Executive was submitted.

The Lord Mayor put the recommendations set out in the report to the vote and on a show of hands declared these to be **AGREED.** 

#### **RESOLVED:**

2.1 That the Council determine the allocation of places on the following standing committees and notes the names of the Members appointed to them

(including any changes), following notification by the respective Party Whips, as set out below and detailed in Appendix A.

2.2 That the Council confirm the proportional division of seats on the Standing Committees including the establishment of an additional Planning Applications Committee as shown in Column 3 of Appendix A as set out below:

Committee	Members		Proporti	onality
		Con	Labour	Independent
Audit and Performance General Purposes Westminster Scrutiny Commission Children, Environment and Leisure P&S Services Adults, Health and Public Protection P&S Business, Planning and Transport P&S Housing, Finance and Corporate Services P&S Standards Pension Fund	e * 8 8	3 4 6 6 6 6 4 3	1 1 2 2 2 2 2 2	
Licensing City Planning and Dayslanment	15 16	11 12	3	1
City Planning and Development	87	64	22	1

<sup>\*</sup> In addition there are 4 Co-opted Members with voting rights

The meeting ended at 8.25pm.

CHAIRMAN:	DATE:	
CHAIRIMAIN.	DAIE.	